Preliminary Results of Adjara Supreme Council Elections

Elections of the Supreme Council of the Autonomous Republic of Adjara, region’s 21-member legislative assembly, were held on October 31, parallel to the general parliamentary polls of Georgia.

According to the preliminary results published by the Supreme Election Commission (SEC) of the Autonomous Republic, only two parties – ruling Georgian Dream and opposition Strength in Unity bloc, led by the United National Movement, were able to cross the 5% threshold necessary to gain proportional mandates, scoring 45,86% and 33,95%, respectively.

As for the region’s three single-mandate constituencies, the GD candidate has secured a first-round victory in one, while run-offs are expected in the remaining two, where none of the candidates were able to garner more than half of the votes. In the run-offs, GD candidates will face their rivals from the UNM/Strengh in Unity.

Official preliminary results for majoritarian districts:

#28 Batumi Municipality – goes into runoff

  • Tite Aroshidze, Georgian Dream –  41.85%
  • Giorgi Kirtadze, UNM/Strength in Unity – 34.43%

#29 Kobuleti Municipality and Makhinjauri Administrative Unit of Khelvachauri Municipality

  • Tsotne Ananidze, Georgian Dream – 50.05% (claimed 1st round victory)
  • Elguja Bagrationi, UNM/Strength in Unity -36.6%

#30 Khelvachauri (Except Makhinjauri Administrative Unit), Keda, Shuakhevi and Khulo Municipalities – goes into runoff

  • Pridon Putkaradze, Georgian Dream – 48.93%
  • Gia Abuladze, UNM/Strength in Unity – 31.81%

In the meantime, on November 2, Strength in Unity bloc led by the United National Movement, announced that it is refusing the mandates for the Council, as it does not recognize the results.

The Adjara Supreme Council elections were held on October 31, parallel to the general parliamentary elections in Georgia.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)

Back to top button