skip to content

Georgia Takes Presidency of Committee of Ministers of CoE

On November 27, Georgia has officially taken over the six-month presidency of the Committee of Ministers of the Council of Europe (CoE)  from France. Georgia will hold the presidency until May 15, 2020. 

The new Chair of the Committee of Ministers, Georgian Foreign Minister Davit Zalkaliani introduced the priorities of the Georgian Presidency, which include human rights and environmental protection, civil participation in decision-making process, child-friendly justice and strengthening democracy through education, culture and youth engagement.

Georgia became the 41st member of CoE on April 27, 1999. The Chair of the Committee of Ministers is held for a term of six-month in turn by the representatives of the members in English alphabetical order.

In his Facebook address, FM Zalkaliani said, “this is a high responsibility and a sort of a challenge as Georgia is chairing an international organization for the first time.” He also told reporters in Strasbourg that during its presidency, Georgia will consider interests of each CoE member state, and that the situation in Georgia’s Russian-occupied territories will always be on the CoE agenda. 

Earlier today, the flag of Georgia was raised at Place de la République in central Strasbourg, and a tram decorated with letters of Georgian alphabet was also inaugurated at the station “Droits de l’Homme”. 

CoE Spokesperson Daniel Holtgen wrote on Twitter that taking over the presidency today, “Georgia makes an extraordinary voluntary financial contribution of 500 000. A large part goes to fighting violence against women.” 

Read also:

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button