Home / Tag Archives: Giorgi Margvelashvili

Tag Archives: Giorgi Margvelashvili

Georgian Leaders Want NATO Summit to Recognize Country’s Progress

The country’s progress on its NATO integration path has to be “adequately” recognized at the upcoming NATO Summit in Brussels on July 11-12, the Georgian leaders stressed yesterday, shortly after the National Security Council session. In his remarks after the meeting, President Giorgi Margvelashvili said Georgia “was indeed a frontrunner” …

Read More »

Speaker, President Spar over Presidential Pardons

The political row over President Giorgi Margvelashvili’s pardoning practices continues, nearly a month after mounting criticism forced the President to suspend pardoning of prisoners convicted for violent crimes. The recent episode follows Parliament Speaker Irakli Kobakhidze’s statement on May 2, when he accused the President of “abusing” his power to …

Read More »

UN Ambassadors Visit Occupation Line, Meet Georgian Officials

Eight United Nations (UN) Permanent Representatives from Latin America, Africa and Asia, who are paying a visit to Georgia on May 5-12, met with Georgian leaders, and traveled to the occupation line near village Khurvaleti adjacent to Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia. The group includes permanent representatives of Congo, Saint Vincent and …

Read More »

President Walks Out on Parliamentary debates

President Giorgi Margvelashvili walked out on political debates following his annual state of the nation address today, citing lack of ability to respond to questions raised by the lawmakers. President Margvelashvili, who attended the legislators’ podium speeches for nearly 1.5 hours, requested possibility to follow up on their remarks. “I …

Read More »

President Delivers Annual Parliamentary Address

Georgian President Giorgi Margvelashvili delivered his fifth and final annual state of the nation address in the Parliament chamber in Kutaisi on May 2. Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili and some government members were present in the legislature along with the Chairperson of the Supreme Court, Chairman of the Constitutional Court, …

Read More »