Placeholder canvas

Georgia Backs UN Resolution on Condemning Russia’s Ukraine Attack

Georgia has voted for the UN General Assembly resolution, demanding Russia to immediately cease the invasion of Ukraine, withdraw its forces and abide by the UN Charter.

A total of 141 countries voted in favor of the “Aggression against Ukraine” resolution during historic “Uniting for Peace” session, in a major diplomatic blow to Moscow.

Only four nations — Belarus, N. Korea, Syria, and Eritrea — voted against along with Russia. 35 have abstained, including Armenia and Kazakhstan, Russia’s allies. Azerbaijan did not attend the vote.

“Georgia, whose 20% is occupied, knows well the face of war,” tweeted Georgia’s Ambassador to the UN, Kaha Imnadze. “We must stop the war.”

Georgia was among 94 nations joining to co-sponsor the resolution.

“I’m grateful to everyone [and] every state that voted in favor. You have chosen the right side of history,” tweeted President Volodymyr Zelenskyy, as Ukrainian troops are resisting the advance of Russian forces since February 24.

Further Read:

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button