Chief of Staff of New Security Council Appointed

Kakhaber Kemoklidze was appointed as the Chief of staff of Georgia’s new National Security Council (NSC). Prime Minister Mamuka Bakhtadze signed the relevant order on July 31.  

Kemoklidze worked as the head of the Interior Ministry’s (SSG) department of information and analysis from April 2018. In 2012-2015 and 2015-2018 he held different positions at the Interior Ministry and SSG, respectively. 

In 2012-2018 he represented Georgia at the Geneva International Discussions and the Incident Prevention and Response Mechanism.

The new National Security Council is an eight-member advisory body chaired by the Prime Minister.

It was established in April 2019, four months after the President-led National Security Council ceased functioning following entry into force of the new constitution.

The rest of the permanent members include: defense, interior, foreign and finance ministers, heads of state security and intelligence services, and chief of the armed forces. Interior Minister Giorgi Gakharia is the Secretary of the NSC.

The 46-member “politically-neutral” permanent staff, responsible for  informational, analytical and organizational activities of the NSC, will be part of the Government administration.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button