Polls Open for Georgia’s By-Elections

Over 400 polling stations have opened at 8am today for Georgia’s by-elections, according to the Central Election Commission (CEC).

A total of 402,091 voters are eligible to cast their ballots in the by-elections. They will go to the polls to elect five municipality mayors, as well as to fill one vacant majoritarian seat in the Parliament and eight majoritarian seats in municipality councils (Sakrebulos).

  • Mayoral elections will be held in Marneuli, Zestaponi, Chiatura, Zugdidi and Khulo;
  • Parliamentary elections will be held in Mtatsminda single-mandate constituency of Tbilisi;
  • Sakrebulo elections will be held in eight single-mandate constituencies of Sagarejo, Akhmeta, Adigeni, Zestaponi, Chiatura, Tkibuli, Tskaltubo and Ozurgeti municipalities.

CEC has registered 6,139 observers from local election monitoring groups and 47 international observers. 1,917 registered journalists will be covering the electoral processes.

CEC said it will launch vote tabulation at 8pm, after polling stations are closed, and final vote tallies will be uploaded to a special website

For more background information, please refer to our tag on by-elections.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button