One More Lawmaker Quits Georgian Dream Majority

MP Koba Narchemashvili quit the Georgian Dream’s majority group, reducing the ruling party’s Parliamentary representation to 107 lawmakers. The decision was approved at today’s Parliamentary bureau meeting.

Narchemashvili is the eighth GD lawmaker to quit the ruling party, following Levan Gogichaishvili, Eka Beselia, Beka Natsvlishvili, Gedevan Popkhadze, Zviad Kvachantiradze, Gia Zhorzholiani and Mirian Tsiklauri.

Like Natsvlishvili, Zhorzholiani and Tsiklauri, MP Narchemashvili was a member of the Georgian Dream-Social Democrats faction, a seven-member Parliamentary group in the GD majority. Their departure means that the faction will now be dissolved.

Parliamentary faction is a group of at least six MPs, which gives certain procedural privileges to its members. Until recently, the GD majority had eight factions, including the biggest – the Georgian Dream faction.

Narchemashvili will continue as an independent lawmaker, while Zhorzholiani and Tsiklauri decided to join the Alliance of Patriots faction, which effectively saved the group from dissolution after MP Davit Chichinadze quit the Patriots faction.

Two of the three remaining members of the Social Democrats faction – Sulkhan Makhatadze and Roman Muchiashvili will continue their Parliamentary activities in the Georgian Dream faction. The third member, MP Ruslan Poghosiani quit the Social Democrats faction as well, and will stay in the majority group.

The MP departures were prompted by the Supreme Court appointments dispute. For detailed coverage, see our tag on justice reform.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button