Georgia Declares National Mourning for Gas Explosion Victims

January 17 has been declared a national day of mourning over the victims of gas explosion that rocked an apartment block in Didi Dighomi district of Tbilisi a day earlier.

Four people, including a minor, died in the exposition, according to the authorities. Eight others were injured, including six minors.

President Salome Zurabishvili, Speaker Irakli Kobakhidze and Prime Minister Mamuka Bakhtadze have expressed their condolences to the families of the deceased.

The Interior Ministry is leading the investigation under article 240 of the Criminal Code of Georgia, involving violation of safety regulations.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button