Final Vote Count Confirms GD Sweeping Win, Mtatsminda Runoff

Vote count is over at all polling stations for Georgia’s May 19 by-elections, confirming the Georgian Dream candidates winning the mayoral race in all five contested municipalities.

According to the returns from all the precinctS, GD candidates received 54.18%, 78.6%, 50.75%, 64.58% and 70.91% in Zugdidi, Marneuli, Zestaponi, Chiatura and Khulo, respectively.

GD candidates also won the municipality council polls in all eight single-mandate constituencies in Sagarejo, Akhmeta, Adigeni, Zestaponi, Chiatura, Tkibuli, Tskaltubo and Ozurgeti.

The Central Election Commission confirmed on May 20 that parliamentary by-election in Mtatsminda single-mandate constituency will go into runoff with GD’s Lado Kakhadze facing Shalva Shavgulidze of the European Georgia/Free Democrats, who garnered 41% and 36.83%, respectively, according to the final results.

Runoff polls will be held before June 13, no later than the 25th day after the first round of elections.

173,361 voters cast ballot in the by-elections, accounting for 43.1% of the total number of voters, according to the Central Election Commission (CEC). There were a total of 402,091 eligible voters.

For more information about the May 19 by-elections, please refer to our tag.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)

Back to top button