Six Presidents To Attend Georgia’s Centennial Celebrations

Six presidents and around 20 high-level delegations will visit Georgia on its centennial anniversary of restoration of statehood on May 26, Georgian President’s press office announced today.

Presidents of Lithuania, Latvia, Finland, Poland, Slovakia and Armenia, as well as the European Commission President Jean Claude Juncker, will attend the celebrations together with President Giorgi Margvelashvili.  

In Tbilisi, the foreign dignitaries will attend the military oath-taking ceremony on the Freedom Square, and will also participate in the parliamentary roundtable titled “Cooperation for Prosperity – a Strategy for Future Centennial.”

They will also attend the reenactment of the first reading of the declaration of independence in the National Youth Palace (former seat of the Russian Empire’s governor generals for Caucasus) in Tbilisi, where the country’s national council declared its short-lived independence on May 26, 1918.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button