New Chair of Legal Affairs Committee Elected

MP Anri Okhanashvili of the ruling Georgian Dream Democratic Georgia (GDDG) was elected to head the Legal Affairs committee with 98 votes against 4 on February 5.

The ruling party nominated Okhanashvili during the meeting of the parliamentary majority on February 2.

The Legal Committee has been the locus of GDDG internal dispute, since its Chair, MP Eka Beselia, resigned in late December, in protest against Supreme Court nominees. Her First Deputy Vano Zardiashvili also quit his position.

Shortly before Beselia’s resignation, MP Gedevan Popkhadze was elected as her first deputy and the acting chair of the committee. But he was soon recalled by the Georgian Dream and on January 14, MP Davit Matikashvili was elected as acting chair.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button