Home / News / Georgian Dream Downsizes Governing Body, Renews Members
GDDG's Political Council Meeting, May 1, 2018. Photo: gd.ge

Georgian Dream Downsizes Governing Body, Renews Members

The ruling Georgian Dream-Democratic Georgia (GDDG) party will downsize the political council, the party’s main governing body, from 21 to 15, and renew it members.

The changes were announced by Tbilisi Mayor Kakha Kaladze, GDDG’s general secretary, following the political council sitting today, which was also attended by ex-PM Bidzina Ivanishvili, who is to join the new political council composition.

Other members of the political council include: Prime Minister Giorgi Kvirikashvili; Parliament Speaker Irakli Kobakhidze; Deputy Parliament Speaker Tamar Chugoshvili, as well as MPs: Gia Volski, Ilia Nakashidze, Archil Talakvadze, Mamuka Mdinaradze, Dimitri Samkharadze, Bidzina Gegidze, Irakli Tripolski.

The newly-appointed Regional Development Minister Maia Tskitishvili and IDP Minister Sozar Subari will be in the council as well, together with Tbilisi Mayor Kakha Kaladze and Partnership Fund CEO Davit Saganelidze.

The following members will quit the political council: MPs – Eka Beselia, Zviad Kvachantiradze, Irina Pruidze, Sopio Kiladze, Alexander Kantaria, Akaki Zoidze, Irakli Sesiashvili, Gedevan Popkhadze, Roman Kakulia and Temur Chkuaseli; as well as Nodar Khaduri, Davit Koguashvili, Zviad Gonadze and Tedo Japaridze.

The new composition will have to be approved by the upcoming party congress on May 11 together with Bidzina Ivanishvili’s candidacy.

The decision to renew the political council follows the internal dispute within the parliamentary majority that prompted Bidzina Ivanishvili’s return to politics.

This post is also available in: Georgian Russian

About Civil.ge

This is a product produced by Civil.ge team, delivering news and commentary on Georgia since 2001.