Presidential Election’s Final Vote Tally Approved

Central Election Commission approved on November 12 final vote tally of the October 27 election, confirming Giorgi Margvelashvili’s victory in the presidential vote.

1,660,976 voters turned out at polling stations in the presidential election, representing 46.95% of registered voters; 30,101 ballots were annulled according to CEC’s final protocol.

Final election result is as follows:

Giorgi Margvelashvili of GD coalition – 1,012,569 votes (62.12%)
Davit Bakradze of UNM – 354,103 votes (21.72%)
Nino Burjanadze – 166,061 votes (10.19%)
Shalva Natelashvili – 46,984 votes (2.88%)
Giorgi Targamadze – 17,354 votes (1.06%)

Other 18 candidates garnered less than 1% of votes each. More detailed results are available on this interactive map.

Those three contenders who garnered over 10% of votes (Margvelashvili, Bakradze and Burjanadze) are now eligible to state funding to cover campaign expenses in an amount not exceeding GEL 1 million each.

Margvelashvili has won the race in all 73 constituencies; his largest share of the vote, 94.21%, was in outgoing PM Ivanishvili’s native Sachkhere district of Imereti region and the least, 45.8%, in Senaki of Samegrelo region.

There are total of three constituencies where Margvelashvili received less than half of the votes cast in respective districts; these are: Senaki, Zugdidi, both in Samegrelo region and Dmanisi (47.29%) in Kvemo Kartli region.

Bakradze’s largest share of the vote was in Dmanisi constituency – 41.53% against Margvelashvili’s 47.29%, the narrowest margin between the two contenders, followed by Zugdidi where Bakradze received 40.81% of votes against Margvelashvili’s 46.61%.

Bakradze’s lowest share of the vote, 6.66%, was in Kazbegi, the smallest constituency by number of voters located in a mountainous district in Mtskheta-Mtianeti region on the Russian border.

Kazbegi was the district where Burjanadze received her largest share of the vote – 19.12%, followed by Oni – 18.5%. Among other constituencies, where she performed relatively better than her national average, were Telavi (14.29%), Tsalka (17.57%) and Tsageri (16.72%), as well as five out of Adjara’s six constituencies – Khelvachauri (17.27%), Keda (16.81%), Khulo (16.78%), Shuakhevi (16.39%) and Batumi (14.96%); she garnered 15.52% in Tianeti and up to 15% in Ninotsminda, Aspindza and Lentekhi.

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button