skip to content

GDDG Holds Consultations over New Chair of Supreme Council of Adjara

The GDDG party said that consultations are still underway over a new chairman of the Supreme Council of Adjara Autonomous Republic.

The Supreme Election Commission summarized on November 17 final results of the first and second rounds of the October elections, according to which GDDG has won the majority and will have 14 lawmakers in the 21-member Supreme Council.    
The National Movement will have five lawmakers, but Levan Varshalomidze, number one on the UNM’s party list and ex-head of Adjara’s government, said on Thursday that he would renounce his MP mandate. Asmat Diasamidze, who is number six on the UNM’s party list, will take his place.

Davit Tarkhan-Mouravi, one of the leaders of Alliance of Patriots, also relinquished his mandate to businessman Zaza Okruashvili, founder of Omega Group and owner of Iberia TV. His wife, Nato Chkheidze will also take a seat in the new Georgian Parliament through the party list of Alliance of Patriots.

Nino Burjanadze’s Democratic Movement will also have one member in Adjara’s legislative body.

An inaugural session of the Supreme Council of Adjara should be convened by President Giorgi Margvelashvili. According to the President’s office, it will be held within the timeframes set by law.

According to the constitution of Adjara Autonomous Republic, an inaugural session of the newly elected Supreme Council should be held no later than a month after the end of elections. 

This post is also available in: ქართული (Georgian) Русский (Russian)


Back to top button