skip to content

Runoff – Burjanadze vs. Lordkipanidze

(November 10, 2001 1:03, Tbilisi, Civil Georgia) As it was announced couple of minutes ago by the head of electoral commission the parliament failed to elect the chairperson in the first round of voting. Nino Burjanadze and Vazha Lordkipanidze advance for runoff elections to continue through the night.

228 MPs participated in voting, 228 ballots were casted of which 1 was declared invalid by the commission. Nino Burjanadze received 104 votes, Vazha Lordkipanidze – 71, Jemal Gogitidze – 52. Nino Burjanadze and Vazha Lordkipanidze advance for the second round of elections as none of them received 118 votes necessary to win the first round of elections. Only 79 votes (simple majority) are sufficient to win the runoff.

Observers expect a close race and the votes of the “Revival Union” who supported Jemal Gogitidze can prove be decisive. However, preliminary analysis shows that the “Revival Union” did not vote for Gogitidze in concert.

Nino Burjanadze’s chances look more favorable as Aslan Abashidze, the force behind the “Revival Union” slammed Vazha Lordkipanidze in yesterday’s TV interview.


Back to top button