

To: Vice-President of the Commission / High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Josep Borrell

Brussels, 7 May 2024

Dear High Representative/ Vice President,

The continued undemocratic behaviour of the Georgian authorities, in particular their aggressiveness in pushing through a 'Russian-style' law on foreign agents, silencing and using force against peaceful demonstrators, has crossed the line. Such behaviour has further increased tensions and polarisation within Georgian politics and society, which runs counter to the nine steps to which the Georgian government committed itself when the country was granted EU candidate status, and can no longer be ignored by the European Union. We call on you to take a firm stance and the following measures, which would send a clear signal to the Georgian authorities.

First, the behaviour of the Georgian authorities and the leading party Georgian Dream is contrary to the obligations of an EU candidate country. Georgia's candidate status should therefore be suspended without any further progress in the accession process.

Second, EU funding of the Georgian state budget and government programmes should be reviewed.

Third, an interim assessment of Georgia's progress in implementing the nine steps set out in the Commission's recommendation of 8 November 2023 should be carried out without further delay. This measure was included in the Parliament's resolution of 25 April 2024 on attempts to reintroduce a foreign agent law in Georgia and its restrictions on civil society.

In recent years we have worked tirelessly to support the Georgian people and their aspirations to join the EU. We remain determined to do so, but the democratic criteria for all EU candidate countries are the same and must be respected.

Sincerely,

Petras Auštrevičius, Renew Europe, Lithuania Viola von Cramon-Taubadel, Greens/EFA, Germany Guy Verhofstadt, Renew Europe, Belgium Riho Terras, EPP, Estonia Thijs Reuten, S&D, Netherlands Olivier Chastel, Renew Europe, Belgium Andrius Kubilius, EPP, Lithuania Karen Melchior, Renew Europe, Denmark Traian Băsescu, EPP, Romania Benoît Lutgen, EPP, Belgium

Bernard Guetta, Renew Europe, France

Miriam Lexmann, EPP, Slovakia

Rasa Juknevičienė, EPP, Lithuania

Vladimír Bilčík, EPP, Slovakia

Michaela Šojdrová, EPP, Czechia

Ana Miguel dos Santos, EPP, Portugal

Frédérique Ries, Renew Europe, Belgium

Michael Gahler, EPP, Germany

Eugen Tomac, EPP, Romania

Karin Karlsbro, Renew Europe, Sweden

Niels Geuking, EPP, Germany

Tineke Strik, Greens/EFA, Netherlands

Kim van Sparrentak, Greens/EFA, Netherlands

Sabine Verheyen, EPP, Germany

Aušra Seibutytė, EPP, Lithuania

Isabel Santos, S&D, Portugal

Daniel Freund, Greens/EFA, Germany

Andrey Kovatchev, EPP, Bulgaria

Ricardo Morgado, EPP, Portugal

Sandra Kalniete, EPP, Latvia

Jan-Christoph Oetjen, Renew Europe, Germany